Manicstamper’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I went, I saw, I came home shattered!!!

Posted by manicstamper on February 20, 2007

Well that’s the trade show done and dusted for another year.
I came home absolutely shattered with very sore tootsies indeed…..we must have walked miles.
I have to say that although we saw some very nice stuff, I didn’t see anything for cardmaking that got me too excited……perhaps a good job at my age….lol!!!
Loved the new range of printed Bazzill which we ordered and I can see lots of that coming to live at my house once it arrives in May.
Was also a tad smitten by some spotty Prima flowers in bra shaped packaging but have to say I would be quite happy to scrap the bra, get my flowers in simpler packaging and pay less money for them
This year at the shop the boss decided that we would have a good clear out of all the old stamp lines and get in some new companies so yesterday she ordered from Elusive Images. We had some of their Christmas unmounteds in and they are beautiful stamps to work with so Deb decided to try others from their range. I have to say that she picked some very nice sets so I will look forward to having a play with those.
Clarity stamps will be be new in to us in a couple of weeks. Beautiful stamps and Deb ordered a lovely selection for both ladies and mens cards so that is something else to look forward to.
I do have my eye on some of the new Tim Holtz unmounted sets….when I say some I probably mean all as they were gorgeous and if I order a couple of sets at a time it won’t seem too bad.
Once we had looked at all the cardmaking suppliers we wanted to look at we did have a little wander around the sewing and knitting stalls.
Now I can knit but only if you want something that resembles a worn out dishcloth but my word did I wish I was more competent after seeing all the delicious wools and amazing jackets, cardigans and scarves on show. What a riot of colour and texture it was.
I love to see patchwork quilts. I’d never have the patience to do one but WOW the ones on show yesterday were just so awesome I could have cried. Whoever makes all the samples should get a medal.
Not having done cross stitch for some years I was amazed at the kits available now and fell in love with two Michael Powell Christmas kits which I think I may have to treat myself to. They weren’t huge so I think I could make myself sit for perhaps a couple of hours a day to get them finished for Christmas and you can get rubber stamps of some of the designs too which would look beautiful on acetate and coloured like stained glass windows.
Anyway……..I did come home inspired to try some different things especially after seeing the displays on the Elusive Images stand so I am off to have a bit of a session and throw a few stamps around in the hope of coming up with some nice designs.
If I do……..I will post them and if I don’t………well that’s between me and my dustman.
Bye for now
Sheila
x

One Response to “I went, I saw, I came home shattered!!!”

  1. Gillian Hamilton said

    Oh how I would have loved to tag along… sounds like a wonderful time…

Leave a Reply

 
