Manicstamper’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Daring Cardmakers-Text

Posted by manicstamper on July 6, 2007

I couldn’t believe my luck this week to find that this weeks dare was to use text as the main focus of our cards.
I love calligraphy and fonts and also printed text papers as long as I kow what they say…..lol!!!


So the brief was…..

We’d like you to somehow incorporate text into your cards this week – not just one word.. but a portion of TEXT… like a poem, or newspaper print, Caligraphy, Even rip up an old text book and use some of the paper from it, there are masses of possibilities here, so let your imaginations run riot and let us see you texting to your heart’s content!


I have used DCWV paper from the black and white stack and coloured it using Adi……….ha…..gotchya………no Adirondacks today….lol!!! I used a Palette ink pad called Lautrec Rainbow to colour the paper.
The centrepiece is coloured with the same ink pad and stamped with letters from an All Night Media alphabet set plus an ‘s’ from another stamp set (unknown make).
ITS ONLY was stamped using a Habico clear stamp alphabet and the ‘o’ was replaced with an eyelet.
The grunging was done with a black and a red Stazon ink pad.
Leftover strips of card were coloured with the Palette inks and attached with DST.


Well I have thoroughly enjoyed being the guest designer for the last couple of weeks and would like to thank the team for asking me to take part.

Sheila-x-

12 Responses to “Daring Cardmakers-Text”

  1. Jo said

    Sheils this is so yummy, all the colours look fantastic, you really do make the most wonderful cards!
    jo xx

  2. mum on the run said

    Stunning card Sheila, I just love all the colours.

  3. Paula said

    This is gorgeous, Sheila.
    Stuning colours. I too couldn’t believe my luck as the mid week dare just left me totally uninspired & I couldn’t make a card certainly not one fit to sell.

  4. Lythan said

    you have managed to make that horrible old DCWV paper look fresh and lovely. You are so clever Sheila – I am in awe. We have been privledged to have you as GD on DCM

  5. Rachael said

    Great card Sheila, read your next blog too we went to Trentham Gardens last weekend to do the Aerial Extreme and the boys are there today taking G & G round monkey world – small world. Might just pop to Dagfields this afternoon for some “chipboard”.
    x

  6. Sarah said

    Very inspiring Sheila! I have that paper and have never done anything with it, I never even thought of colouring it! Fab card as always!

  7. Rosie said

    Love this card Sheila… I sound like a parrot, but I love ALL your cards!

  8. Susan said

    What a pretty card and the clever use of the WORDS is really great! Thought of leaving this comment at the top of your blog but then you may not have thought I looked at the challenge card! Lol! Thanks for stopping by my blog, too🙂

  9. Leo said

    Love this card it’s so ‘vibey’ and fun!

  10. Leigh said

    fabulous card Sheila.

  11. Gillian Hamilton said

    Oh Sheila…this card is my ALL time FAV of yours… it’s totally SCRUMMY!!!! YOU ROCK MY GIRL!!!!

  12. lindsalita said

    Brilliant colors here, saw this card while cruising around the blogs today. What a great opportunity to be a featured artist.

Leave a Reply

 
